No content found

Arnoley Abcejo,MD

Arnoley (Arney) S. Abcejo M.D. is a neuroanesthesiologist with a special interest in perioperative patient safety, neurologic surgery/neuroanesthesia, concussion, venous air
embolism, education, and communication. He is the principal investigator or co-investigator of grant-funded research. He serves as the Medical Director for the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) Website. He is the previous Chair of Communications for the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care. He serves as the Associate Program Director for the Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship at Mayo clinic. He has been recognized for several teaching awards from residents, student nurse anesthetists, and faculty staff. He is Board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology and is currently an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Chair of the Division of Neuroanesthesiology and Radiology in the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Mayo Clinic Rochester.

L. Harold Barnwell, III, DNAP, CRNA, CHSE

L. Harold Barnwell, III, PhD, DNAP, CRNA, CHSE, POCUS is an Assistant Professor and the Assistant Director of Education in the Department of Nurse Anesthesia at VCU. Dr. Barnwell joined the department as an affiliate faculty member in 2015 and full-time faculty member in 2017. Dr. Barnwell is a practicing anesthetist with the VCU Health System. His research interests include perioperative brain health, ultrasound applications in nurse anesthesia practice, modernizing education for the next generation of learners, and international collaboration of nurse anesthetists. Dr. Barnwell also enjoys exploring the outdoors with his three daughters, Teagan, Tate Rose, and Taryn. 


Matt Dyer is the proud dad of two, his daughter Karsyn, and his son Griffin, both of which he hopes will grow up to be CRNAs. He is originally from Northwest Minnesota and graduated with his BSN from The University of North Dakota. Matt is a staff CRNA at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. He graduated with his Masters of Nurse Anesthesia from the Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences in 2011, and completed his Doctorate of Nurse Anesthesia Practice through Mayo’s program in January of 2022. Matt holds the academic rank of “Instructor in Anesthesiology” in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. For 6 of the last 8 years, Matt was a “Community CRNA” for the Mayo Clinic Health System, working in Solo-CRNA, CRNA-only, and in Anesthesia Care Team models across the Mayo Clinic Health System in both Minnesota and Wisconsin. Matt started his own anesthesia company in 2018, Serenity Anesthesia Services, Inc., and works in various facilities as an independent contractor/1099 CRNA.

Rodrigo Garcia,MBA, APN-BC, MSN, CRNA

Rodrigo Garcia is the Co-Founder and CEO of Parkdale Center for Professionals, a dual diagnosis substance abuse treatment facility specializing in the dual diagnosis management of the impaired health care provider. He has been a direct care provider himself for more than 25 years and has experience in multiple nursing specialties including emergency services, trauma, intensive care and, since 2004, in anesthesia as a CNRA. Rodrigo is also currently the compliance director for the Indiana Professionals Recovery Program (IPRP) for impaired nurses and pharmacists and the West Virginian Restore program for impaired nurses. Personally, he has emerged successfully from a dangerous battle with the disease of substance use disorder. As a result, he has educated thousands of families, state employees, individuals, employers, and professional organizations on the highly accountable professional afflicted with substance use disorder. As the Parkdale CEO and IPRPRestore compliance director, he is committed to providing health care professionals, their employers, and their families with the most effective, comprehensive, and progressive treatment, monitoring, and accountability programs possible.

Julie Gauderman, DNAP, APRN, CRNA

Julie has been the Federal Political Director (FPD) for the Minnesota Association of Nurse Anesthetists (MANA) since 2009. She also served as the MANA president 2018-2019, president-elect in 2017 and as the director of the board and vice president. Julie us a past Daniel D. Vigness Federal Political Director Award recipient. Currently Julie is the Associate Director of the nurse anesthesia program at Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. In 2020 she shifted her clinical work and opened Dream Safe Anesthesia, effectively becoming an educator, an anesthesia provider and a CRNA business owner. Gauderman received her bachelor’s degree in nursing from the College of St. Catherine in St. Paul, Minnesota, master’s degree in nursing with a nurse anesthesia area of study from the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, and most recently, a Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice degree from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston in 2020.

Molly Herr, MD

Dr. Molly Herr is a practicing pediatric anesthesiologist at the Mayo Clinic. She is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists' Environmental Health Committee, the Chair of the Mayo Clinic Rochester Green subcommittee, and has a certificate in Climate Change and Health Effects through Yale University's School of Public Health. She hasbeen involved with sustainability initiatives to decrease anesthesia environmental impact while providing fiscally responsible, safe, and excellent anesthetic care.

Jennifer Banek, MSN, CRNA

Jennifer Banek is a CRNA, residing in Libertyville, IL. She has a Master of Science in Nursing from DePaul University, and her nurse anesthesia certification from the NorthShore School of Nurse Anesthesia. Ms. Banek serves in the United States Army Reserve with the rank of Captain. In 2019, she was mobilized to Al
Udeid Air Force Base, located in Qatar, where she was a member of a Damage Control Surgical Team. She is presently the Commander for the First Mission Command Training Detachment of the 84th Training Command, located at Ft. Sill, OK. Jennifer is the immediate Past President of the Illinois Association of Nurse Anesthetists (IANA) and has served as the PAC
Chair both for IANA and the American Associations of Nurse Anesthetists. She is presently the AANA Region 3 Director. Ms. Banek was elected to be the Lake County Coroner in December 2020. Jennifer also volunteers much of her time to mentor youth in her community and nursing professionals who are pursing nurse anesthesiology.

Jennifer enjoys running and traveling, especially to visit National Parks.

Erin Martin

Dr. Martin is the Director of the Mayo Clinic Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice Program, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology in the Mayo Clinic Department of Anesthesiology, and a staff CRNA at the Mayo Clinic.  She received her BSN from Allen College, her MNA from the Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences, and her DNP from Winona State University.  She is an onsite reviewer for the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs.  She has been involved with Nurse Anesthesia Education for over 10 years, and has interests in generational influences in the workplace, and the intersection of professionalism and social media.

No content found

No content found

No content found